The Mystery Bag

January 26, 2011 § Leave a comment

Playing catch is a favourite game of Maple’s—she can spend hours chasing after her toys. While MM and I enjoy having a good run around the apartment with Maple and her possessions, we have noticed that our backs and knees are paying the price for our constant bending and kneeling. In order to save our joints and ligaments, I thought of a simple homemade game that would entertain Maple without the active company of Momsy and Popsy.

Using Maple’s Kong (stuffed with a tantalizing treat), I bundled it up in a paper bag. In this case, I used a Body Shop paper bag that I found lying around the apartment—compared to other ink-printed paper bags, it seemed to me the least toxic. As a finishing touch, I tied the handles into a knot, not once but twice, to add that extra bit of challenge. Maple could sense that something anew was stirring.

Laying down the ‘Mystery Bag’ in front of Maple, I then gave her the commands ‘Sit’ and ‘Stay’. After releasing her with the command ‘OK’, Maple charged for the parcel in which her Kong and a yummy treat were hiding. Watching Maple unwrap the puzzle was amusing, but also worrying at times. When Maple began to tear off one corner of the bag and was about to swallow down the paper, I knew I had to correct her then and there. [Note: I don’t mean to be a nag, but I can’t stress enough how important it is to watch your dog during their play so that you can immediately intervene when they’re about to get themselves into trouble. Your dog will thank you for it!]

After five minutes, Maple finally conquered the ‘Mystery Bag’ and claimed her prize. Even then, she still wanted to have a go at it with the paper bag. Contemplating the fun she would have shredding up the paper bag, I almost gave in to her wishes, but then my judgement told me otherwise. Allowing Maple free reign of the paper bag would spell D-I-S-A-S-T-E-R.  It looks like Maple will just have to wait for another round of the ‘Mystery Bag’ game to uncover the next hidden surprise! 

 

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Mystery Bag at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta