Wish List No. 01: Moleskine Dog Journal

May 5, 2011 § 28 Comments

There is something so fulfilling about life’s little pleasures: a refreshing glass of cold ice-tea on a hot summer’s afternoon, the sound of singing birds heralding the start of a new day, a plush lounge chair on which to cozy up with a good read, and the wonderfully clean scent of freshly-laundered towels. For me, I would also like to add to the list my handy-dandy Moleskine 2011 Planner.

Call me old-fashioned, but just I don’t have the knack for recording daily information on an electronic device. MM has gone paperless in that regard and, as much as I admire him for doing so, I find it terribly difficult to convert. There’s something about the simplicity of the Moleskine hardcover notebook and the luxe texture of its paper that draws me to the Moleskine collection like a dart to the bull’s-eye target.

Imagine the wonderment when my eyes came into view of the Moleskine Dog Journal which was launched in March 2011.

Image Source: www.moleskine.com

At a retail price of S$40, however, I think I’ll just admire it from afar and keep it safe on my Wish List. Meanwhile, if you’re also a regular user of Moleskine notebooks, then allow me to indulge you in some visually-stunning, personal journal pages created by Moleskine fans. Enjoy!

Image Source: www.notesfromtheroad.com

Image Source: www.halltoons.blogspot.com

Image Source: www.valwebb.wordpress.com

Image Source: www.andreajoseph24.blogspot.com

Image Source: www.glwsketchworks.blogspot.com

Image Source: www.badaude.typepad.com

Image Source: www.absolutmaterialist.com

Tagged: , ,

§ 28 Responses to Wish List No. 01: Moleskine Dog Journal

  • Anny says:

    I am moleskin fan too… but i am doodling everywhere but on the moleskin which i got.. *LOL* saving it for i don’t know what..

    the moleskin doggie journal looks pretty nice.. but at $40.. it is a bit steep for us at the moment 🙂

    do join the sketchbook project.. it is a lot of fun 🙂 the book is not of very great quality but it will do.. for sketches.

    love the photo of Maple. She is so adorable.

    • I know what you mean! I try to be super neat when using my Moleskine but, of course, that only hinders the creative juices from flowing 😉 Moleskines are extremely expensive here in Singapore. I managed to get the 2011 Planner on sale, but it meant having to wait until APRIL when all bookstores were trying to clear their inventory of calendars and planners 😀

      Have fun with The Sketchbook Project. I’m so tempted to participate in it. Mind if I share your story on the Happy.Bark.Days FB page?

      • Anny says:

        i didn’t know Happy.Bark.Days is on fb… we are however not much in fb 🙂

        u may share the story on your fb. no worries abt it.

  • lepawsvoyage says:

    So insightful. I want one too. This is my first time knowing about moleskine. Love at first sight. Thank you SJ. 😀

    • I’m a huge bibliophile and I *heart* notebooks and stationaries as well! Glad to have introduced you to the world of Moleskine… but don’t get too addicted, yah? 😀

  • raisingdaisy says:

    WOW those are some incredibly talented people! I’m with you about not wanting to convert away from paper. For one thing, there’s nothing so personal as holding a pen or pencil and recording your thoughts (or illustrations) – it’s like the inspiration flows through your body and onto the paper. You can’t get that from pushing buttons and dragging mouses, especially when technology inevitably screws up and causes you to start screaming at it (LOL!). And second, I’ve seen too many people lose their work to crashes and upgrades. Third, in meetings, I have the next meeting recorded in my calendar book in seconds, while everyone else takes forever to get it into their devices – makes me giggle! Can you tell I’m passionate about paper? Books over Kindles, notebooks over laptops…yep, that’s me! 🙂

    • I second that! You’ve hit the nail on the spot with the unpredictability of technology. I did try once to keep an e-calendar, but it didn’t work out. My worst fear is having everything erased because of some malfunction or virus or what-have-you. And, since I don’t back-up my data as often as I should, the stakes of losing it all is higher 😯 So, thanks, but no thanks, I’ll be keeping my trusty little notebook planner 😀

    • Books over Kindles! HEAR, HEAR!

  • Anna says:

    I am the same way with “nice” journals… don’t want to put just anything in them. And i am a sucker for journals overall… which is funny because I don’t journal NEARLY as much as I should. Wish I had more time, but they say it’s often something you have to MAKE time for.
    Now you’ve got me wanting a moleskin…. I passed them up several times at borders, but I should have a little one for my photography bag
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • I totally get you. There’s something about ‘marking’ up a journal that puts me on edge…it’s like the first pen stroke has to be just right. I can’t tell you how many journals I’ve tried to keep up, but have failed (on hindsight, blogging has become my way of journaling now). In the end, I realized a notebook would suit me better—a place in which to jot down ideas, inspirations, and reminders of sorts. Have fun sifting through the shelves for a journal/notebook, if you do decide to tote one along on your photography expeditions!

      • Anna says:

        oh and I meant to tell you.. because of said lack of habits and notions.. I usually leave the first couple pages of a new journal blank… so I can find something perfect to start them. Which never ends up happening lol

        And I agree on the blog being a journal now, though I don’t write nearly as much as I used to. I hope to get some books made of my blog in time, maybe end up making a yearly one. Would be a nice record of my photography advances anyhow.
        A

        • How odd, me too! Practically all my notebooks begin with a few blank pages for reasons I’m unable to comprehend… but what you’ve said makes sense to me. Oh, and just to illustrate another peculiar trait of mine, I will neatly trim off a page that has gone astray… where the words aren’t aligned, the typography off, and the sketches abysmal… then start from scratch again 😐

          I hope you’ll pursue your interest of publishing your blog into a book or two—your photos have the ability to create captivating stories. And, as you said, it would make for a wonderful memorabilia of your journey into photography!

  • I heart journals and planners! It was so difficult for me to transition to digital calendars and task lists, but I bregrudgingly made the switch a couple of years ago. I still miss the feeling of physically crossing an item off of my to-do list!

    P.S. I’d add the sound of a vacuum sucking up dirt from the floors to the list of life’s little pleasures. It’s oh-so satisfying!

    • At one point in time, I was actually trying to keep two planners—one physical and the other digital. Not a good idea! My hubby does everything with his electronic gizmo and, I have to admit, some of the ‘Getting-Things-Done’-type apps are pretty nifty! Thanks for adding to the list of life’s little pleasures—as a fellow cleanaholic, I couldn’t agree with you more about the vacuum!

  • TOto's mommy says:

    I used to hand write journals too for YEARS! But these journals books really take up alot of space and collecting dust somewhere, hahaha ~ And now I still doodle here and there expecially for recipes! But I doodle on $1 notebooks keke ~

    • You’re so right about the clutter! I’m trying not to accumulate too many paper-made books… just the essentials like a planner and notebook. They can really add up, not just in terms of space but dollars too 😉

  • I’m SO glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t gone completely paperless/digital. While I do enjoy the usefulness of being able to check things online, I still prefer writing down my to-do list—it’s just easier for me to remember!

    I love the thought of a dog journal, but Oscar and I will continue to share one planner for now. 🙂

    • Yeah, I think it’s about finding the right balance that works for you. To-do lists are a must have for me as well, and I tend to prepare one at the start of the day, although I’ve read that it’s more efficient to prepare one at the end of the day when unfinished tasks are still fresh on your mind.

      LOL, I like the thought of Oscar peering into your planner to see when he’s scheduled for a run.. or perhaps a playdate with Evee 😉

  • Kas says:

    I would be so lost without my planner! I literally plan my life in it haha. I’ve never seen the Moleskine notebook before, but it looks neat and is now on my wish-list! And the journal pages that you posted – those artists are incredibly talented! I can barely draw a stick-figure …

    • I’d be lost, as well, without a planner! I think I really developed the habit during my undergraduate days when I needed a planner to keep track of class schedules and due dates—not sure if it’s the same for you? The artworks are impressive, aren’t they? Makes me want to take up a drawing class!

  • Kristine says:

    I am the worst journal-keeper ever. I’m not even kidding. I have stopped and started so many journals throughout my life it is ridiculous. The count must be over twenty at this point. There is something really appealing to me about recording my daily thoughts but when it comes to actually doing it, I never make the time.

    It’s the same with day planners. I find I do the things before I have a chance to write down that I need to do the things.

    However, this Moleskine dog journal? Looks amazing. Even if I didn’t use it for fear of ruining its awesomeness I totally think it is something I need to own. Like yesterday.

    • Haha.. Over twenty journals? That could be a record you’re setting! I, too, tried my best to keep a journal going but, like you, I never committed the time to write anything substantial in it. I’ve now realized it’s not the journaling that appeals to me, but rather the design of the cover and the feel of the paper…yes, I’m a self-confessed paper and stationary addict!

      As for planners, I’ve been through quite a few as well. From daily planners to weekly planners to monthly planners. But now I’ve finally settled with a format I like—and that’s the daily planner by Moleskine. By the way, did you get the Moleskine Dog Journal yesterday already, or you’re planning to!? 😀

  • furfilled says:

    I guess we share our love of Moleskine journals as well as our germophobe tendencies. : ) I expecially appreciate the way that you can use them for free form note-taking, doodling, and sketching. Thanks for sharing the drawings from other Moleskine users too!

    • Moleskine Germophobes—I love it! It was fun sifting through the web for these drawings. I’m always curious to see how others have put their Moleskines to use. If only I could be as artistic as these talents!

  • Kame says:

    So in love with that turtle one.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wish List No. 01: Moleskine Dog Journal at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

