A Second Chance

May 20, 2011 § 18 Comments

I Rescued A Human Today

Her eyes met mine as she walked down the corridor peering apprehensively into the kennels. I felt her need instantly and knew I had to help her.

I wagged my tail, not too exuberantly, so she wouldn’t be afraid. As she stopped at my kennel I blocked her view from a little accident I had in the back of my cage. I didn’t want her to know that I hadn’t been walked today. Sometimes the overworked shelter keepers get too busy and I didn’t want her to think poorly of them.

As she read my kennel card I hoped that she wouldn’t feel sad about my past. I only have the future to look forward to and want to make a difference in someone’s life.

She got down on her knees and made little kissy sounds at me. I shoved my shoulder and side of my head up against the bars to comfort her. Gentle fingertips caressed my neck; she was desperate for companionship. A tear fell down her cheek and I raised my paw to assure her that all would be well.

Soon my kennel door opened and her smile was so bright that I instantly jumped into her arms.

I would promise to keep her safe.

I would promise to always be by her side.

I would promise to do everything I could to see that radiant smile and sparkle in her eyes.

I was so fortunate that she came down my corridor. So many more are out there who haven’t walked the corridors. So many more to be saved. At least I could save one.

I rescued a human today.

~ Janine Allen, Certified Professional Dog Trainer Rescue Me Dog

 

Miss Little Red Maple Leaf has transformed our lives for the better in more ways than we can count on our all fingers combined. This is thanks to that fateful night when MM and I first met Maple (then known as Lola) in the home of her previous human family. I would like to think that we chose Maple but, unbeknownst to us at the time, it is very likely that she chose us.

Maple could have easily thought, upon the first sight of us, that we were an odd couple: HE a giant, SHE a petite lady; HE with a loud booming laugh, SHE with a demure giggle; HE who is prone to letting cute things get away with certain crimes, SHE who will put her foot down when cute things step out of bounds. Would any puppy feel comfortable living in our nest? Maple was certainly brave enough to take up the challenge, and won our hearts with her enthusiasm.

Technically speaking, Maple was not a rescue case—she came from a family environment and was taken very good care of. Maple’s previous household, unfortunately, just had a lot going on and could not afford the time Maple required for training, socializing, and bonding. MM and I entered picture, rehomed Maple, gave her a new “leash” in life, and the rest is history.

There are many furry ones out there, however, who are in desperate need of rescue and a loving forever home. Being a dog owner has made me more aware of the perils that exist behind the closed doors of puppy mills, puppy farms, and inexperienced backyard breeders. I find it extremely disheartening. Also disheartening are the number of stray dogs roaming the streets, living off meager finds, braving the harsh elements without shelter, and fending for themselves in a chaotic urban environment.

One particular animal-welfare organization in Singapore, by the name of Gentle Paws & Friends,  is doing what it can to provide shelter to homeless and needy dogs. Operated predominantly by volunteers, this shelter ultimately hopes to find permanent homes for all of their four-legged residents. This dream came true for one of the shelter dogs at Gentle Paws & Friends—her name is Daisy.

Meet Daisy!

Image Source: www.gentlepaws2010.blogspot.com

Daisy didn’t have an easy start in life. Given the state of her past, she could have fallen by the wayside. Nevertheless, Daisy’s tenacity for life and affectionate spirit pulled her through. In a remarkable ending, Daisy found her way into the loving home of Lorna and Sebastian—both volunteers at the shelter.

Image Source: www.gentlepaws2010.blogspot.com

Why Lorna and Sebastian? Only Daisy knows!

Image Source: www.gentlepaws2010.blogspot.com

To read the full story of Daisy’s adoption, please click here (and keep a tissue box handy by your side).

Last but not least, thank you for staying with me here… I know this is a looooong post! I’ve been wanting to touch on the topic of adoption for quite some time now, but just wasn’t sure how to approach the subject. Thanks to ‘sandooch’ (you know who you are) for sharing the poem/story by Janine Allen, which served as the inspiration and enlightenment I needed to jump-start on this post.

For our fellow blogging friends, we would love to find out how your four-legged companion—whether adopted, rehomed, or brought into your loving home as a puppy—“rescued” you!  

Tagged: , ,

§ 18 Responses to A Second Chance

  • raisingdaisy says:

    What a beautiful story Allen wrote. It’s so true. Daisy is one happy looking dog – what a resilient spirit!

    I feel that our Daisy chose us as well. We’d been casually looking at dogs and puppies for a few years, not sure that we wanted to give up our freedom to take care of a dog. But then we saw Daisy, and Daisy saw us. She was frightened and not too happy looking at first. Once we took her out of the cage, she snuggled up and looked so deeply into our eyes (she still does that) for quite a while, as if trying to figure us out. She spoke to us silently, but clearly.

    That was it. We happily turned our backs on complete freedom in favor of this bony, quiet little puppy. Watching her blossom into a happy, friendly, outgoing and fun-loving pup reminds us daily that we made the right decision. Or rather, *she* did. 🙂

    • It’s so true, owning a dog is a huge commitment and sacrifices on our part need to be made along the way. But, you’re right, raising a puppy into adulthood and equipping him/her with the best possible life such that he/she can reach his/her full potential is so rewarding! Daisy has made the obvious choice of choosing your family to be hers.

  • I’m so relieved Daisy’s story had a happy ending. 🙂

    Oscar came into my life two years ago as a stray and now he’s a pampered pup enjoying the good life. I’m glad I was able to “rescue” him from a life on the streets or in the shelters, but, in many ways, he rescued me.

    One of the most important things Oscar (and all dogs for that matter) taught me is to live in the moment—I used to mull over the past and worry about the future until he came along. Now there’s nothing I love more than enjoying a simple stroll through the neighborhood/park or the feeling of the sun warming my skin. I suppose it’s enjoying these “little things” that makes life so special. 🙂

    • Sounds like Oscar helped you in very much the same way Maple “rescued” me! Every minute spent with our pups is a minute in which we are living in the present…not dwelling about the past or worrying about the future. Thanks for saving Oscar from a life on the streets—it can be a pretty unfriendly place out there for a little guy like him! He has much to look forward to now that he’s got you.

  • charlywalker says:

    Congrats! You’ve just received the “Versatile Blogger Award”.
    visit: http://charlywalker.wordpress.com for details.

    • Thanks, Charlywalker! We’re dizzy with glee—it means so much to us when fellow bloggers take an interest in what we have to say and, moreover, present us with an award for doing so 😀 We’ll head over to the link and find out more. Have a great weekend!

  • Kas says:

    This post is just wonderful!! I completely agree with you – I think our dogs choose us, not the other way around. They make our lives so much better, so much more fulfilling, so much more filled with love, compassion, joy. They remind me of that each and every day and it’s clear that Miss Maple does the same for you 🙂

    • Oh, most definitely, dogs fill up our everyday lives with warm fuzzy feelings. I guess, in that sense, dogs have a kind of special intellect and intuition that we sometimes underestimate. I think your pack is mighty lucky to have found you—it is clearly displayed on their happy faces!

  • blisschic says:

    Hi there 🙂

    I think it’s beautiful that you guys adopted Maple or perhaps, that Maple adopted you guys :p Likewise, both my dogs (a mongrel and a Japanese spitz) are adopted – 1 from the roadside and the other from a Chinese expat who was leaving Singapore. As much as I love to raise a puppy, I however see that it’s more important for us to adopt when there are so many other dogs out there who have nothing but love to give and share. They say that dogs are man’s best friend and as cliche as it might sound, it’s very true. When I’m sad and wallowing in self-pity, they are the ones who make me instantly happy and put a delightful smile to my face. I believe that this is true for many dog owners and lovers out there too 🙂 What’s your view?

    By the way, I just posted an entry on my 2nd sketching class! we started doing shading! 🙂

    • Wow, talk about fateful beginnings—it sounds like Archie and Frosty staked an early claim on you guys. It’s meant to be then! Thanks for giving them both a home in which they can now call their own. I’m sure they have their individual ways of showing their gratitude to you! I’m absolutely with you that our furry friends can cheer us up even on our worst days. When I’m down-and-out, I now no longer have to drown my sorrows over coffee and a plate of donuts… I’ve got Maple, who is perkier than caffeine and sweeter than sugar! Happy weekend to you and your pups 😀

  • eardog says:

    we always love your stories here! thanks for brightening our day. and give miss little red maple leaf a scratch from me and theodore!

    • Thanks for your sweet comment! I will most definitely give Maple a scratch (and, to top it off, a belly rub) for you and Theodore. Hope you guys are having a wonderful weekend 😀

  • Novroz says:

    I would like to think that we chose Maple but, unbeknownst to us at the time, it is very likely that she chose us
    I sooo agree with this statement…I also think that my turtles were the ones who chose me.
    I don’t know whether you have read thisor not > http://kamekroten.wordpress.com/2011/03/19/happy-birthday-to-me/

    I also said that(well,Kroten said that) “It didn’t matter how many turtles she was looking at because what matter was which one was looking back at her.”

    I was looking fora new turtle and none can attract me till Kroten walked toward me and that minute I knew she was the one I wanted to take home.

    • Hi Novroz! Thanks for the link to Kroten’s story. I enjoyed reading Kroten’s perspective about how she first laid eyes on you and, from that day on, decided that you would forever be her mom. You’ve done a remarkable job of bringing Kroten back to good health!

  • Elizabeth says:

    I’m always amazed at the timing and circumstances surrounding the addition of any of my family’s pets. They all leave their unique marks and hopefully, make us better for the journey. 🙂

    Love the poem. 🙂 Maple is a lucky girl!

    • I love your comment—it is so eloquently said! Hmm, you’ve just given me an idea. Let me get started on it and, hopefully, I can reveal it before the end of this week 😉

  • […]  [Note: For more on this topic, you can check out the recent Happy Bark Days post:  A Second Chance.] […]

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Second Chance at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

