Spare Us A Vote?

June 19, 2011 § 30 Comments

After several sleepless nights of fighting jet lag and recuperating from the 18-hour on-flight movie marathon across the Pacific Ocean, it is time to pick up where we last left off! MM tells me that Miss Maple is doing just fine and, in fact, hardly notices that her favourite momsy is 12,800 km (8,000 mi) from her centre of gravity. Ah well, so much for the imagined tearful cries I envisioned from the Lil’ Miss—it looks like I can relax more easily and enjoy my homecoming (*whew* long sigh of relief). Thank you, everyone, for your comforting words and reassuring comments πŸ˜€

Now that I have gotten back my bearings, I hope to get into the swing of blogging again. First of all, I have a few thank you’s to send out. It was such an overwhelming surprise when I checked my inbox to find six(!) awards waiting patiently in the ‘Comments’ queue for approval. Without any further adieu, I would like to acknowledge the nominators for their generosity:

Versatile Blogger Award

Nominator: Didi & George from My Little DogΒ 
Nominator: Pauline & Oscar from Oscah Baby
Nominator: Novroz & Kame and Kroten from Kame & Kroten Blog
Nominator: Opie’s Mom & Opie from Opie’s Mom’s Blog

Genuine Blogger Award

Nominator: Miss Stella Rae from Just Ramblin’ PierΒ 

Inspiration Award

Nominator: Melissa & Yuki from Yuki The Dog BlogΒ 

If there is one thing Miss Maple loves more than hoarding toys, it has got to be collecting awards! Fortunately, these virtual awards don’t require physical shelf space so, as a self-confessed cleanaholic, I have no qualms with Maple’s borderline obsessive compulsive behaviour—in fact, I say, “The more the merrier!”
The next bit of news I have to share also came as a welcomed surprise. Miss Maple is one of 50 finalists in a pet photo contest!Β 
The pet with the most number of votes wins a complimentary photography course—all the more reason for Maple to smile for the camera! We’re up against some tough competition and could really use your help. Please spare us a vote, or two, or three πŸ˜‰ Β You can vote as many times as you wish up to one vote per day. The polls close on July 1st. Click HERE for the link!
Β 
Β  Β 

You may also wish to the know that our blogging buddy, Ros & Le Le, fromΒ Le Paws VoyageΒ also made it to the finals! Just look out for the cute Beagle with the blue tennis ball on the grass lawn—you can’t miss her. Give them your support, too, please!

Truth be told, though, I think all the pet photos are adorable—how can you not break into a smile seeing the happy faces on these furry friends and critters! If anything, hopefully these pictures will brighten up your day. Have a great weekend, everyone πŸ˜€

§ 30 Responses to Spare Us A Vote?

  • Chaithra says:

    Hope I get to read more of maple adventures now that you are back πŸ™‚

    • Hi Chaithra! Oh no, I’m not back in Singapore quite yet. Still enjoying my vacation, so it will be a while before I can post anything substantial about Miss Maple. Meanwhile, I’ll most likely be filling this blog with posts about travelling and the occasional dog-related content πŸ˜‰

  • Anna says:

    wow, quite the slew of awards! Congrats! and I shall saunter over and throw a vote out for you too. I loved that little birthday series with her. Glad she is settling in fine with you gone, means you do a good job with her. I remember the first time I left Luna with a Vizsla owning family. When I went to pick her up she did not even lift her head off the couch to say hello… Granted she was probably beyond pooped playing all weekend with an older vizsla but still. but at the same time it showed that she is comfortable alone, and without me, which is what I want to have a happy balanced dog.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

    • Yes, the awards kind of blew me over! I suppose when you are part of such a niche community of bloggers, the awards will naturally circulate amongst everyone (LOL)!

      Thanks for sharing the humour in the story of Luna’s greeting upon your return home from a trip! Well, seeing how Maple is adjusting so well in my absence I think I better not raise my expectations too high when I eventually return to Singapore. I have a feeling Maple will have her paws firmly planted on the ground while staring long and hard at me as if to say, “Well, it’s about time!” You’re right, though, I’m extremely proud of Maple for being able to cope with my extended absence. It’s reassuring to know that she can handle spending some alone time away from her momsy πŸ˜‰

  • Novroz says:

    Welcome back, SJ…we miss you, your educative posts and adorable pictures of miss maple.

    Wow, you are very famous…6 awards!! you deserve them all πŸ™‚

    congrats on the competition and we will definitely vote for miss Maple…good luck.

    • Whoopsy daisies! I think I might have misled everyone into thinking that I’m back in Singapore… In actual fact, I’m in Canada now and rebounding from the loooong flight from Singapore. It’ll be some time before I can reunite with Miss Maple again. Until then, I’ll have to make do with some non-Maple related posts (hopefully they’ll be just as entertaining to read). Thank you for your support—each and every vote counts! πŸ˜€

  • didiwright says:

    Oh, yes, we’ll spare you a vote anytime! Well done for making the final, and good luck with the competition. Judging by the other entries, I’d say Little Miss has got a good chance. We’ll vote for you and try to help you along πŸ˜‰

    • Thanks for your kindness, Didi! We’re trying to stay optimistic but, by the looks of some of the numbers, there is quite a W-I-D-E margin 😯 Well, we’ll just keep chugging along until the polls close on July 1st…who knows what may happen πŸ˜€

  • raisingdaisy says:

    ABSOLUTELY we’ll give you a vote!! Congrats on all your awards! I LOVE LOVE LOVE the pictures of Miss Maple looking at the passport and the one with the birthday hat on her ear! You must have a collection of very precious photos! πŸ™‚

    • The photo of Maple and the passport was taken before I left for my trip—I thought she was feeling a bit down. Well, now I know she’s actually having a ball without me there! Go figure… I think she’s enjoying her ‘freedom’ with MM, who lets her get away with many things πŸ˜‰ Thank you for your vote, we really appreciate it!

  • We’ve been voting for Maple once a day since you shared the link with us. Best of luck to Miss Maple and our friend Lele! πŸ˜€

    • Wow! That’s extremely sweet of you guys to support Maple and Lele to that extent. We can’t thank you enough πŸ˜€ Oscar gets a big sloppy lick and lots of wags from Maple!

  • Elizabeth says:

    That’s a long flight; I flew to Guam from Virginia, USA once, so I can kind of relate. Hope you’re enjoying your visit home. πŸ™‚

    Congratulations on the many awards! And, of course we voted for Miss Maple!

    • Virginia to Guam sure is a long-haul flight, but I bet the beauty of the island was well worth the journey! Yesterday was the summer solstice and the official start of the summer season…boy-oh-boy did the sun ever shine. I hope it stays for the rest of my trip home—that would be nice. Thank you for your vote! πŸ˜€

  • BOL. i’m reading your post and comments and thinking – i’ve just returned from a holiday myself and while it’s a good thing Georgia didn’t miss me, it’s also sad that she didn’t miss me!

    congrats on your ton of awards! that’s quite a haul. have a great holiday πŸ™‚

    • Welcome back from your trip! I hope you had a lovely time. I just read about the ‘new’ Georgia! LOL, if Miss Maple could be as well-mannered when I reunite with her, then that would be a wonderful surprise πŸ˜€

  • Muffin_mint says:

    Hi Maple’s Momsy! How’re you back home? It must be a great comfort to know that Maple is doing well. But no matter how much fun Maple is having, I’m sure inside her little heart she is still missing you! =)

    Anyway, I’ve been voting since I first saw ur post a few days ago! I tried to ‘cheat’ a little by using my husband’s email as well. But the system refuse to let me do it. Think they detected my IP add or something. Still, as long as I’m online I’ll vote for you and Lele no doubt!

    • Wowzers! I can’t thank you enough for your regular votes! We really appreciate your support, as does Ros & Lele I’m very sure! By the way, you may like to know that it isn’t necessary to enter your email address (only if you wish to sign up for news and updates), and each computer with an IP address is only allowed to cast one vote per day. The margins are getting wider and wider by the day, but we’ll continue to trek through right to the end πŸ˜€

  • Anny says:

    Congrats on all your awards πŸ™‚ that’s very sweet of all of them.

    I guess doggies adapt as long as they have someone they know around them. Don’t worry, when you come back, Missy Maple will give you an earful for leaving her in Singapore.

    Enjoy your holidays… and take lots of pictures and show us when you come back.
    We’ll hop on over and vote and vote for her till the 1 July πŸ™‚

    • Hi Anny! Thanks for taking the time to drop us a visit. Oh, yes, Miss Maple is bound to give me her two cents once she sees me. I’m trying to enjoy as much of the outdoors as possible, but the weather has been a bit iffy. I never thought I’d be saying this, but…WHERE IS THE SUN!?

      P.S. Thank you for your votes! You guys are awesome! πŸ˜€

  • charlywalker says:

    I am in love with your pic’s!

    bark On!!

  • SandySays1 says:

    Good to see you back in the blogging saddle!
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

  • Kas says:

    We will definitely vote for you guys!! And congrats on all of the awards — you deserve them!! πŸ™‚

  • furfilled says:

    Hello! I’ve been traveling a bit myself, and kind of out of the loop on the blog awards front, but I wanted to let you know that the 2011 Petties nominations are going on until tomorrow – you should totally enter! I already sent in a nomination for my favorite Singaporean-Canadian poodle and her blog . . . : )

    • The 2011 Petties is all so new to me! Thank you for thinking of us enough to nominate Miss Maple… I certainly hope this lil’ Singaporean-Canadian poodle will qualify (LOL). I, too, was more than happy to submit the nomination form for Toki. I’m crossing my fingers that she’ll get through to the voting round. Good luck, Toki πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Spare Us A Vote? at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

