The Hostess With The Mostest

August 15, 2011 § 16 Comments

Saturday 6:00pm. MM and I are lost for ideas as to how to feed our rumbling tummies (well, not really lost, just L-A-Z-Y in an idyllic sort of way). “Why don’t you name a place and I’ll take you out for dinner,” says MM. I do a double take. Is my hubby asking me out on a date? Why, I think so!

Suddenly faced with a lack of dining suggestions, I searched for reviews and recommendations online via HungryGoWhere (a community website for foodies in search of good eats in Singapore and select cities in Southeast Asia). What do I see greeting me on the homepage: an August deal-of-the-month promotion at an F&B establishment called Hosted–On The Patio

  • Cozy-warm”
  • Tranquil garden landscaping”
  • Delectable bistro cuisine”
  • “Live band”  

With descriptors like these, I was hooked. I called and made a reservation for two then, sneaking a glance at MM, I asked the receptionist, “Is the restaurant pet-friendly?” I know. I know. This was meant to be a special night-out just between the two of us, but I couldn’t bear to leave Lil’ Miss Maple alone at home. I rationalized the decision with reasons such as how Maple could benefit from: (1) exposure to a new environment, (2) socialization opportunities with fellow diners, and (3) special bonding time over candle light with Momsy and Popsy.

The decision was immediately sealed in concrete when the receptionist replied with, “Yes, the outdoor dining area is pet-friendly.” Pawtastic! The three of us hopped into the car and made our journey to the restaurant. Upon arrival we were greeted by lush greenery, ambient lighting, and the sound of running water from the Koi pond—a little oasis in the middle of an urban jungle.

After settling down, we ordered the Atlantic Crab Salad (S$16) followed by Smoked Duck Linguine (S$24) and Three Cheese and Mushroom Pizza ($14). MM devoured the salad, announcing it as the best plate of lettuce he ever had—I think what he meant to say was that the savoury crab meat, tangy citrus segments, sweet roasted cherry tomatoes, and spicy black pepper combined to make a merry experience on the palate. We can’t wait to try an improvised version of this tasty salad at home.

The Smoked Duck Linguine sounded like it had a lot of potential to be an all-star favourite. While this cream-based pasta certainly packed a flavourful punch, I found it lacked the presentation zeal that would take it up a notch. The Three Cheese and Mushroom Pizza, on the other hand, was a winner with me but fell short of MM’s expectations. What I liked about this thin-crust pizza was the generous topping of arugula over the amalgamated fusion of cheeses: mozzarella, parmesan, and blue cheese. For MM, the added mushrooms were too few and far between—a shame because their earthy flavours would have given the pizza a whole new dimension.

Dessert came and went too quickly for me to snap any photos 😉  We ordered the Molten Dark Chocolate Fondant (S$14) and Warm Apple Crumble (S$12). Of the two desserts, the one that received the most praise from MM was the crumble. MM exclaimed that the crumble was excellent. In his opinion, the crumble topping was perfectly sweet and crunchy, and nicely balanced the soft apple filling. The vanilla ice-cream that accompanied the crumble, unfortunately, lacked character—I think I would have given this dessert two thumbs up otherwise.

Hosted–On The Patio is a rare find, given its: (1) hidden location away from the hustle and bustle of the city, (2) family-friendly environment with a wooden swing and Koi pond to amuse the little ones, (3) acceptance of pets within its outdoor premises (a little known fact…for now), and (4) reasonably-priced and -portioned menu items. We will definitely be adding Hosted–On The Patio to our personal list of favourite pet-friendly restaurants and return when another occasion for a lazy weekend arises…hopefully soon!

  

* * * * *

Disclaimer: HAPPY.BARK.DAYS is an independent entity and was not paid to write this review by any of the commercial enterprises mentioned in the article.

Tagged: , ,

§ 16 Responses to The Hostess With The Mostest

  • Anny says:

    A most beautiful night out indeed. Bet Maple must be very happy to be included 🙂 The food looks deeeelicious 🙂 dark choco fondant.. yummieeeeeee… now you are making me really hungry. And i just had lunch.

    Its nice that the restaurant allow pets 🙂 A sure winner for a lot of pet owners.

    • Yes, I think Maple was pleased to have been part of the romantic dinner (lol)! Restaurants that allow pets are quite hard to come by, so we were glad to have discovered this one by chance 😀

  • may says:

    Wow..this place looks really nice and the food looks yummy. The best thing is, it’s pet-friendly. Gonna tell Rossi’s daddy about this place and take her out with us on a date too! ;P

    • Food-wise, I think it’s comparable to what you might find in other mid-range restaurants in town…but it was the ambience that won us over. If you have the time, do stay until past 9:00pm for the live music—the band plays accoustic remixes of pop songs. We could only stay for a short while because Maple was due for her dinner! Hope you guys have a great date night if you should decide to try this place 😉

  • raisingdaisy says:

    Oh, how sweet Little Miss Maple looks in that last shot! I’ll bet she was thrilled to join you both in an exciting new place!

    I used to be a restaurant reviewer, and I think you qualify to be one also – your descriptives and critiques are superb! Sounds like you had a wonderful evening out. 🙂

    • Thanks for the compliment—it really means a lot to have such a nice comment from one who was a professional restaurant reviewer! I’ve always wondered what it would be like to be a critic, but I think I might end up limiting my own scope of work because of my lack of adventure when it comes to food. Escargots? Tempting, but I think I’ll just stick with salad as a starter 😉

  • totomameee says:

    Nice place!! Haha please review MORE such restaurant so that when TOto is back, I just have to come to your site keke ~ We seldom bring TOto out to eat in any outdoor restaurant setting because he always wants to sit on my lap 😦 or he wants his own chair! Haha he thinks he is a human kid!

    How did Maple manage to sit under the table throughout the dinner? I bet TOto will whine his head off scratching my thigh throughout our dinner!

    • Lol, well, I always get a little nervous whenever we decide to include Maple in our dine-outs. We never know how Maple will react to the environment—sometimes she’ll patiently take a seat by our chair, while other times she’ll be sniffing excitedly and wandering away from the table. That night when we had dinner at Hosted–On The Patio, I brought some treats for Maple. Every so often, when I noticed Maple sitting nicely, I would praise and reward her with a treat. After an hour into our dinner, however, she got fidgety and protested by flipping over her water bowl (twice)! That’s when we knew it was time for us eat faster and ask for the bill 😉

  • SandySays1 says:

    Wow, I’d like to visit some of those places! My human really liked eating in Singapore when he used to visit. He had two places he liked on Orchard near the Intercontinental but that was in the 80’s. Now our eating is at home or camping. Tell Miss Maple hi. If she looks at my blog tell her the alligators can’t come through the screen!
    Sandy

    • Yes, Singapore was and still is a foodie haven! Eating out in Singapore is a leisure sport in itself, as you will fondly remember from your days here 😉 We saw those alligators on your blog—terrifying yet majestic at the same time. Don’t worry, I’ll hold on tight to Miss Maple…she often tries to act tough but is, in fact, a timid little furball!

  • bonnie says:

    so many choices!

    • Yep, no one will ever go hungry in Singapore (lol)! The next time you’re in Singapore and are lost for restaurant ideas, this might be a place to start. Fyi, this eaterie is a little hard to get to with no MRT access and it’s a bit of a walk from the nearest bus stop, so a taxi is almost a must.

  • Great food, awesome atmosphere, and a pup to boot! What a gift : ) I am trying to imagine taking Miss Stella to a pup friendly place!

    • Given Miss Stella’s advantageous height, she might just steal a bite or two off your dinner plate! But, then again, I bet she’d be such a crowd-pleaser with all the diners that it wouldn’t matter 😉

  • didiwright says:

    Wow, how romantic of MM to take you out on a date, especially to such a lovely place. Although I’m not a big fan of crab meat, that salad sounds and looks yummy. Maybe I could replace the crab meat with something else? Prawns?

    I can’t believe you didn’t take photos of the dessert…I don’t know if I can forgive you for that! 😛

    • Mmm, yes, I think prawns would make for a great substitute. It’s a surprisingly simple salad, but the ingredients all seem to work together!

      Lol, maybe next time we ought to start our meals with dessert first—that way, there’s no excuse for me not to take any photos 😉

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Hostess With The Mostest at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

