Wall Support

November 4, 2011 § 22 Comments

After a long and arduous day, the one thing I look foward to is falling—collapsing would be more like it—on to a comfortable bed for a good night’s sleep. These days it is not hard to come by bed mattresses and pillows with memory foam, orthopedic support, and ergonomic form to offer you a truly blissful rest. But the trend doesn’t stop there. 

Imagine a tempurpedic pet bed for dogs. As outlandish as it may sound to me now, I have a feeling my perception will change many, many, many years down the road when both Miss Maple and I qualify for senior discounts at the pet store.  Until then, Miss Maple has no qualms seeking leg support against our (concrete, no less) living room wall!

Why Maple would choose to sleep in this seemingly back-twisting position, as opposed to cuddling up on her pretty gingham cushion, is a little puzzling to me. But, then again, there are many curious things this little pipsqueak does that never fail to bemuse us, and I think I ought to immortalize some of her quirky habits into words for a future post. 

Here is wishing everyone a wonderfully lazy weekend filled with plenty of catnaps and do let us know if you, too, can spot your pooch taking a snooze in a peculiar sleeping position!

Tagged: ,

§ 22 Responses to Wall Support

  • didiwright says:

    Maple looks so cute sleeping like that. Not only does she look comfortable, but she also looks like she’s listening to something deep inside the Earth’s guts 🙂 George sleeps in funny positions most of the time, and I’ve already written about this on the blog. However, you’ll never find him on a tiled floor (or any other type of hard and potentially cold surface). With him, it’s always got to be soft and warm…

  • annyboo says:

    I haven’t seen wall support with mine here yet.. hehehehhe.. She looks so at ease and comfortable somehow.

    Some older folks would still swear by sleeping on the floor or on hard surfaces (like Maple) for a better back.

  • totomameee says:

    Maple look so relax, and deep in sleep by the wall~ Didn’t even wake when you approached her??!! Keke ~

  • catchatcaren says:

    I gotta tell ya my friend, you would look GREAT sleeping ANYWHERE! Your coloring is just exquisite!

    • Thank you! What’s interesting is that Maple’s colour changes in different lighting conditions. I can’t seem to figure out her true colour, both literally and figuratively speaking! She can be the most sociable pupster one minute and a hermit the next (lol)…

  • These pictures are hysterical. She looks so comfortable for such an uncomfortable-looking spot! I love your headline, too.

  • Bassas Blog says:

    I like to sleep like that! It’s surprisingly comfortable 🙂

  • furfilled says:

    Toki and Miss Maple have so much in common! Toki loves to squish into corners, lie on the concrete with her paws in the air, and generally contort and sprawl on our concrete and wood floors and steps. She prefers to save her dog bed for the evenings. : )

    • This post completely reminded me of the picture of Toki sleeping in the corner that was posted a couple days ago. They are slightly opposites though. Toki with her head against the wall, Miss Maple with her legs propped up against the wall. Toki’s white fur against the brown wood floor, Miss Maple with her brown fur against the white floor.

      I must say though, Miss Maple looks adorable with her dainty feet propped up on the wall.

  • […] cute lil’ red toy poodle called Little Miss Red Maple Leaf. The latest entry talks about how Miss Maple uses the concrete wall as a support when sleeping. Her sleeping position reminds me of Moon who goes into similar contortionist-like positions when […]

  • miss ene says:

    I was inspired to write a blog after reading this entry. My Mini Schnauzer, Moon, sleeps in rather peculiar ways too. Makes me laugh.

    http://youdecidelor.wordpress.com/2011/11/07/this-is-the-way-we-snooze/

    • Hi Miss Ene! I had so much fun viewing the photos of Moon’s funny sleeping positions. You’re right, Moon and Maple do seem to share the same appreciation for cold concrete tiles and walls! Thanks for dropping by and the link back to our blog! 😀

  • Novroz says:

    hehehe pets have unusual way of sleeping,you should see the way Kroten sleeps 😉

    Those pictures are so cute,Maple looks more like a stuffed animal than a real dog

  • raisingdaisy says:

    AWWWW! That’s just too cute! I’ve posted a couple of Daisy’s quirky nap positions; I’ll have to take pictures of some more. Pups can find the oddest places and positions comfy!

  • I love these pictures! Yuki and rocket have strange sleep positions too, only I’m never lucky enough to have the camera right next to me to take a picture. I often wonder the same thing, why do they sleep in such strange positions…maybe it has to do with their position in their mothers womb or maybe how they slept amongst their littermates.

    • That’s an interesting thought! Maybe they do develop their sleeping positions based on their preferences as a little pup. If that’s the case, then I think Maple must have used one of her siblings as leg support… and now she has adapted by using the wall 😉

  • Kas says:

    Oh gosh she looks cute sleeping like that!! But then again, when is Miss Maple ever not adorable? 🙂 Our dogs sleep in the weirdest positions and places too … Kylie loves sleeping in between my bed and the wall, which is maybe a foot of space, so I have no idea why she does it since I’m sure it’s not that comfortable!!

  • Lady J says:

    Maple is so adorable… Sparky my golden retriever sleeps like that too.. except that he’s huge so he doesn’t look as cute in that arkward position. Hehe

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Wall Support at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

