Triple Ouchie!

December 11, 2011 § 12 Comments

What an uncomfortable start to the morning for this little tyke—three jabs of the needle in one visit to the veterinary clinic. Miss Maple probably had better ideas of how she would rather spend her weekend morning: (1) a playdate at the dog park, (2) a liver treat buffet, or (3) a 15-minute belly rub. But, no, her momsy and popsy had to make her endure the nail-biting journey to the vet followed by a triple ouchie.

Here is Miss Maple, somewhat sleepy-eyed and oblivious to the vaccinations that were being prepared right behind her.

The first needle was inserted with no fuss at all and Miss Maple gave us an impatient glare as if to say, “Are we all done here? Can we leave now?” Then came the second and third needles… Before the vet could even administer the shots, Maple let out a shrill yelp that could be heard down the corridor where other furry ones were nervously awaiting their turns. *sigh* That’s our drama queen for you.

On the drive home, our furball was very moody and refused to acknowledge us—she was playing the guilt card. And it worked. Lots of treats and lots of cuddles later, all was forgiven and forgotten… until next year, that is!

Tagged: ,

§ 12 Responses to Triple Ouchie!

  • raisingdaisy says:

    Oh poor little Maple! She looks so sweet and unsuspecting sitting there on the table. I’m with her – I *hate* needles! If it were socially acceptable, I’d probably give a shrill yipe when I get hit with one too! LOL 😉

  • totomameee says:

    Maple so cute, still blur blur, like ‘HUH’!! Hahaha Maple must hv scared the other dogs outside with her shriek!! In Singapore clinc, does the Vet have a nurse to hold maple for you or you have to hold her yourself?

    TOto get so busybody when he is in the vet’s room and starts sniffing everything out! TOto is always ok with the Vet’s technician but when the Vet arrives, TOto will try to keep his butt away hahaha. He can never forget the poop test FOREVER!

  • didiwright says:

    Poor little baby…Big hugs from us for being such a brave girl 🙂
    One question though: why 3 shots? Dogs over here only get one…Just wondering…

    • Yes, this is our first visit to the vet for vaccinations and I was surprised by the number of shots required: (1) parvovirus vaccine, (2) proheart vaccine, and (3) anti-histimine to prevent an allergic reaction to the proheart vaccine. It’s a lot for a little gal like Miss Maple to take in at one go and I’m wondering if we should have separated the duration between vaccines or perhaps administer the proheart on a monthly basis in pill form. Something for us to consider next year, but I think I know what Maple would prefer!

  • Bassas Blog says:

    All over for another year!

  • Kame says:

    Lucky turtles don’t need shots 😉

    You’re a brave little dog Map! I bit mommy’s hand when I had my shot due to my illness. At least you didn’t bit anyone 😉

  • Boo. Poor Miss Maple. I bet you gave her the liver treat buffet after 🙂

  • Poor Miss Maple. I bet she got the liver treat buffet after 🙂

    It’s Adventureweiner/YouDidWhatWithYourWeiner. It appears that I am still ending up in your spam. My comment disappears into spamland when I post it under my regular profile. I have to use an old email to get through. If you could kindly mark us as not spam we will stop having problems. Thanks.

    • Whoopsies, yes, I caught one of your comments in our spam box. Thanks for notifying me. Hopefully it won’t happen again!

      P.s. Miss Maple definitely got her liver treat, but not the buffet she was expecting (lol) 😀

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Triple Ouchie! at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

