Hidden Treasure

March 27, 2012 § 13 Comments

Today, Lil’ Miss Maple sniffed her way to a “pot of gold” in the most unlikely of places: a pile of leaves! The hidden treasure that Miss Maple discovered was a delectable (from a canine’s perspective) bone from a leftover piece of BBQ chicken wing. For Miss Maple, it was as if she had won the lottery. For me, it was my worst nightmare come true. The story goes like this…

The weather was so pleasant this afternoon that I decided to bring Miss Maple down to our neighbourhood lawn for a fun game of fetch. The landscape gardeners had gone off for lunch and left several piles of swept-up leaves at one corner. Initially, the furball showed very little interest in the leaves. After all, I was holding on to her itty bitty tennis ball for which Miss Maple has developed an intense obsession. We played a few rounds of fetch until I accidentally threw the ball into a pile of leaves. Well, the ball landed in the wrong pile! Miss Maple went head first and plunged her face in the leaves to retrieve her ball, or so I thought.

When it was taking longer than expected for the pipsqueak’s head to re-surface, I knew something was amiss. Sure enough, Miss Maple forgot all about her ball and sped off with her find—the chicken bone. “Maple, stay!” “Drop it!” “Leave it!” “Come here!” Nothing worked. I was chasing a mini lightening bolt on four extremely short but super fast legs. I heard some crunching noises and, within seconds, Miss Maple had gulped it all down. Panic-stricken, I thrusted my hand in Miss Maple’s mouth to see if I could remove any remnants of the bone. But, there was nothing left to be found.

Dismayed and upset by the whole ordeal, we returned home—Miss Maple was happily wagging her tail while I hung my head low with guilt. I immediately called MM at work and replayed for him what had happened. Concern and worry swept over me. Miss Maple, on the other hand, had the widest grin I had ever seen displayed on her face.

I’ll be watching our munchkin very carefully these next few days, and monitoring her ‘by-products’. So far, so good. No signs of lethargy, distress, or unusual poop. I’m hoping Miss Maple’s digestive system will work its magic so that the bone will pass right through. In the meantime, it looks like we need a refresher course on the “drop it” and “leave it” commands. With enough practice, I’m hoping we’ll have better success next time!

Tagged: , , ,

§ 13 Responses to Hidden Treasure

  • raisingdaisy says:

    That’s scary when they quickly eat something you know is bad for them; I know that feeling of worry all too well. And isn’t it amazing how fast those little legs can go? You’re doing the best thing you can do – keeping a close eye on sweet little Miss Maple. We’ll keep our fingers crossed for her too. 🙂

  • annyboo says:

    This kinda happen to Dom before.. and all the commands he learnt was conveniently forgotten. He was gulping cat’s poo. I don’t know why he finds that most delectable. YUCKS!

    i am sure Maple will be alright. I can imagine the widest grin on her face. 🙂

  • my darkest secrets -- unveiled says:

    Oh dear! I understand how you feel. But I’m sure Maple will be fine. I know of many owners who nonchalantly feed their poor dogs chicken bones and the dogs are fine. Don’t blame yourself too much. You have always been a great momsy to Maple!

  • Anna says:

    Oh no!! Hope she passes it okay. Luna has found these too back when we lived in the city in our own fenced in yard… darn neighbors. Granted she is quite a bit bigger but still not fun at all. We need to work on leave it and drop it too, granted it usually is sticks and grass these days.
    Anna
    http://www.akginspiration.com

  • I can surely relate to your feeling of panic. And all the while she’s happy as can be! I will be thinking of you both and hoping for smooth sailing, so to speak. It is certainly nothing you could have imagined being in the leaves and it would be great if everyone kept these types of situations in mind when they went to discard their leftovers! Trashcans are always safest!

  • Paws To Talk says:

    We hope she is ok. We have eaten chicken bones before and we’re fine. Dogs will be dogs.

    DiDi: Chicken? ***Drool***

  • rumpydog says:

    Stuff like this happens. No matter how diligent we are, there will always be times when stuff gets by us.

  • totomameee says:

    Hahaha so cute, sounds like what TOto might do. Drop it, or leave it will never WORKS when it comes to anything BONE! Nowadays TOto even act like he didn’t find anything, and just normal sniffing while his tongue are busy licking something on the ground!!

  • barb19 says:

    Don’t feel bad – stuff like that happens from time to time, no matter how diligent we are. If has got through this far, she will probably be fine, and pass it normally. Bit of a scare though. I hope she is ok.

  • Bassas Blog says:

    I’m sure everything will be fine and little Miss Maple will be none the worse for eating her discovered treasure.

  • Novroz says:

    I could have swore that Maple is Kroten’s separate twin, not only she has same yellow-bownish color like Kroten but also eat her poop and now she also eats things that aren’t supposed to be eaten too 😉

  • Fluffy Tufts says:

    They can give you quite a scare when they do things like that! I guess a chicken bone is just too tempting for them to do a good “leave it”. I hope she is ok.

  • nalasdogdays says:

    Oh I totally know how that feels!! Thank goodness they usually come through quite nicely. My friend’s dog accidentally swallowed a fish hook once, and even that came through normally… Phew!

    I would also like to nominate you for the Versatile Blogger Award. If you are not familiar with the award or rules they can be seen here http://versatilebloggeraward.wordpress.com/. I’m probably not the first one to nominate you, but good blogs always deserve it 🙂

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hidden Treasure at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

