Keepsake

July 6, 2012 § 10 Comments

I love a good deal. And so, ever since the Groupon phenomenon swept onto the shores of Singapore a couple of years back, I have been perusing the website on an almost daily basis in search of bargains. Many moons ago, there was an amazing deal from Photobook Singapore. For S$21 you can design your very own digital photo album, then have it professionally printed and bound into a hardcover book. As a scrapbook fanatic and avid bibliophile, this was one deal I could not pass up on!ย 

I had six months from the date of the Groupon purchase to complete and submit my digital photobook—easy peasy, I thought. Well, the months went by and in late June it occurred to me that I had yet to start on the photobook. With only days before the expiry of the Groupon, I went on a mad dash to piece together what would become the pages of the photobook. It was a race against time and for eight hours straight I was glued to the computer screen trying to figure out the software, manipulating photos, and keeping hydrated with lots of water while working through the unbearable afternoon heat. There were times during those long hours when I asked myself: “Why, oh why, did you fall for this Groupon temptation? Why didn’t you just go for that manicure deal instead. Heck, even that 1-for-1 buffet deal sounds pretty good right now.”

At last, the photobook was accomplished and with a click of the mouse it was sent off for printing. Then, it was just a matter of waiting for the finished product to arrive at our doorstep. Within a few short days, a package was delivered in the quiet hours of the night. Lil’ Miss Busybody was eager to help with the unwrapping of the package.

Ta-da! “The Adventures of Lil’ Miss Red Maple Leaf: The Story of Our First Year” …starring none other than the little nugget herself. I have to say, I’m quite pleased with the quality of the finished product. In fact, I was half expecting some of the images to come out grainy because I didn’t have the time nor staminaย to make improvements. Somehow or other, everything seemed to work out in the end (which shows that even non-techies, like me, can miraculously churn out a decent photobook). Here’s a sneak peek into the pages of what has now easily become a favourite keepsake of ours…

Disclaimer: HAPPY.BARK.DAYS is an independent entity and was not paid to write this review by any of the commercial enterprises mentioned in the article.

Tagged: , ,

§ 10 Responses to Keepsake

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Keepsake at The Adventures of Little Miss Red Maple Leaf.

meta

